top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexa Greathouse

A Relaxed Workday Morning Routine

Well now that most of the world has experienced what #WFH (Work From Home) life is all about. I might as well continue to write about it, it's a huge part of my life.


I'm about to move into full-time work and out of the school/work split I've maintained over the last year. Crazy, I'm a real working woman now! I've been so ready for this next leap and it's honestly a sigh of relief to get here. I feel incredibly grateful for this chapter.


This leads me to the first step in my routine ... wake up & practice gratitude.



Realistically... this doesn't happen the second you wake up. I'm not a robot, and I want this to be genuine. Genuine gratitude is the stuff that works. Whether it's praying to center your spirit, or reminding yourself of how far you've come. You know you best. Fill yourself up, because if you know anything about work. You'll be serving others all day, so do it from a genuine place of self-recognition.



My second step is to move your body. Some, but nothing crazy in the AM.



This one's a little easier for me because I have a dog to remind me to get up and go outside first thing. (Sorry to my neighbors because hear the early-AM Coco walks & see me in my PJ-state). I've grown incredibly thankful for this time I get in the AM. It helps me build in sustainable movement before my real sweat sesh comes in the evening. I walk a few flights of stairs and immediately get my body out of a static position and into that morning sunlight. Refreshing, to say the least. Except when Coco starts barking... oops, we're still working on being quiet before step three of our front steps.


Pour yourself something strong... I'm talking coffee here people!! (But weekend Alexa approves other definitions of 'strong' in the AMs wink-wink).



I've worked in a cafe/coffee shop situation for years. Truly it's where I figured out what I actually like doing with my life. Which is working with people and solving problems. Essentially how I arrived at Public Relations & Marketing. I've realized I like people more when I drink coffee. I have more fun, I'm more creative, and bottom line I'm more alive. Look... I'm addicted and it's fine (for now). Nonetheless, you know your own self-indulgent thing that helps you succeed with your day and feel a little special. Build-in time to do that for yourself.


Next, I grab my agenda and prioritize and plan the day.


Nothing is worse than waking up and having no clue what to start with at work. It feels directionless and frankly wasteful. That's why I allocate 15-35 minutes first thing when I walk from my kitchen to my home desk to just check off every notification in my queue. Oh, and I actually mean that. To prep for a successful eight-hour-sprint through all the creative outputs and strategic communications. It takes a lot of direction. I'm thankful for having the accountability my team gives me, but it's good to walk in with your own plan.



Not only that but you can mentally prepare to get your day done how you like it. Meaning you don't have to do the heaviest task first. Or if you're anything like me, you get all your most challenging tasks done first, then lighten your day progressively. Because let's be real, who's most productive at 4 pm? Oops, maybe a little too honest. But in all seriousness, getting to know yourself and your work habits is the best way to use your time wisely in a way that works for your individual productivity levels.


Next, and honestly my best piece of advice. Put on something you feel great in.



There's nothing quite like the placebo effect of putting on something you feel great in. Oh and maybe snap a few selfies too (you deserve to remember these happy moments). But in all seriousness, there's a lot of research out there that leads back to how we see ourselves affects our confidence levels and likeability. Let alone POWER in the workplace. But in #WFHLife comfort is key, so if you're getting ready from the waist up. More power to ya, sounds like a Monday to me!


So my vote is if you're feeling up for it. Get ready and log onto that Zoom call like the boss you want to be, and already ARE.





All in all, working in the creative field and maintaining the persistence required to meet multiple requests at once, takes a lot. So give yourself a lot. It's best to walk into your day inspired, which is the heart behind all of the content I create here. So if this helped you find more enjoyment in your remote workday let me know via Instagram message or by leaving a comment below! I'd love to hear it.



All images are from Styled Stock Society photo membership under their collection titled Morning Routine.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page