top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexa Greathouse

Your Guide to Mastering Online Classes

As we know the majority of students, educators, and institutions of higher education have made the deliberate switch to operating through remote learning for Fall of 2020. This leaves all students around the nation, and most of the world, feeling unsure of this seemingly off-limits idea of attending class without even having to leave their beds. 2020 has seriously been a weird one right?


Girl Taking Online Classes Outside

I’ve taken a few online courses both for college credit and not, prior to this year. But my mentality towards these few classes I took before 2020 was completely different. As we all know there’s a significant difference between choosing to do something and being told to, the same applies here. But, with no other option than to push through it, I feel like I’ve come to a place where I’m even MORE confident learning in an online environment than I was in face-to-face learning environments. So if you’re looking for simple ways to improve your work ethic this semester and kill it in your classes, here’s Your Guide to Mastering Online Classes:


Step 1: Designate a workspace & make it yours


Seriously the main perk of online classes is getting to work in an environment completely within YOUR control (with the obvious exception of roommates and family members). Meaning that gone are the days of sitting in grossly lit fluorescent lighting in uncomfortable plastic chairs. I have a mobile laptop desk that I can swivel wherever I want to sit; on the couch, corner of my bed, or on a stool I find this to be the best for my creativity. I personally like to change up where I sit throughout the day, not sure why I just do, so having this customizable desk option has proven to be great for my productivity levels while taking online classes.


Two things that I always keep next to my laptop are a full insulated bottle of ice water (or coffee) and my notebook. I kind of have a bullet-journal-esque notebook. It’s in no way a full bullet journal (my mind is just too spontaneous to stick to one way of laying out my information) but it’s more so just an empty space to “mental dump” and jot down fast reminders. The water is of course because we know how hydration effects the mind’s ability to process new information and find creative solutions, see more science of that here. Having these staples keeps me from having to move around constantly throughout my class/workday.


Desk Plant- Home Office- Online Classes

Step 2: Schedule your days & write to-do lists


Look, it’s actually pretty freaking difficult to remember all of your due dates and assignments right after logging off of an online class. With the new phenomenon of zoom fatigue, we have little to nothing on our minds other than closing our eyes and not-thinking for a moment. This is why I suggest waking up a little earlier and having a morning routine that sets your day up for one with great intention and control. If you’re looking for more suggestions on how to set up your mornings with intention check out my blog on 5 Morning Habits To Stay Inspired.


Regardless, if you’re a morning or night person, I’ve found success in my own awareness of what’s expected of me day-to-day by blocking out/dedicating time to for specific tasks to get completed. I like to set up an event slot my calendar and put two alarms to remind me of that commitment to finishing any given project. Google Calendar might just be your saving grace when it comes to boosting your productivity levels. (Pro-tip: check out that link for 18 ways to use Google Calendar to your benefit as a student).



Girl Writing Plan To Master Online Classes


Step 3: Block out your break time


I mean seriously block this time out too. Make it a deliberate choice to separate yourself from the projects and reading assignments that you have completed or have yet to complete. You deserve time off; it’s healthy, normal, and balanced. There are many different, and oftentimes disputed ratios of break-to-work time slots but don’t fret, just find something that works for you and stick to it. For more reasons to take a break and boost your productivity and happiness look here.


Pacing is everything, and it may seem like with this forced switch to online learning environments we don’t get to choose the pace we now need to keep up with. But that’s not true. Taking a step back for deep breathing, a fun workout, snuggling your dog, calling home, or taking a quick nap can be the needed fuel you’re missing to power through your day inspired! I try to build in a longer lunch break both on my remote work days and my days full of online classes. This allows me to find time to cook a healthy meal, walk Coco, and just enough time to power off for a moment mentally whatever I choose that to mean each day. This is my “me time,” and I commit to myself to protect it at all costs.


As we all navigate through this new normal of learning and working remember we’re all in this together, and I’m here for you! Share your woes & yays on @the_gleams_blog on Instagram and if you take any photos of your new work/learn from home set up tag us in them I’d love to see what inspires you! Remembering that GLEAMS is an inspirational lifestyle blog all about sharing the sparks of light that our dreams arise from.



All images are from Styled Stock Society Membership. Click here to learn more about how to find these photos for your brand.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page