top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexa Greathouse

3 Acts Of Self-Care I Did Last Week To Stay Inspired

That mid-October craze is coming around again, the holidays are approaching, life is getting a little busier, and it might feel a little hard to keep up with it all. I know I’ve had a weird time adjusting to all the changes this Fall. But I realized that challenging myself this year with a booked-out schedule (mixing work + school is no joke, hats off to everyone who can relate) is not an excuse to stop looking after myself. This last week I decided to change a few things up to try and add some inspiration back into my daily life.


So if you’re anything like me and want to refuel yourself with some self-care induced inspiration this blog is for you.


Get dressed up for yourself

Honestly, this was the biggest change in my week, on Thursday morning I was feeling exceptionally exhausted. I had a class later in the afternoon on Wednesday that was emotionally exhausting and I woke up the next morning still feeling the weight of our conversations. It wasn’t my best morning. And if you have felt physically exhausted, or mentally exhausted for any other reason during the week, you might be able to identify with what Thursday morning lags feel like.


So I decided to take that bold cheetah print top out of my wardrobe. Put it on. Did my makeup. Wore shoes (I work remotely so this was big). And took some photos to commemorate it. It was exciting, all in my small home office/bedroom. Just for me and my pup.


And, here’s the inspiration I felt afterward: today is worth getting ready for, my attention and appearance are correlated, and I feel beautiful. Finding things that fuel you up is what self-care is, it’s really that simple. This was game-changing for my end-of-week-lag so why not give it a try and tag me in your results @the_gleams_blog on Instagram. And if you’re looking for some outfit inspiration for remote work life check out this blog - she boosted her mood with clothes too (I’m not the only one.)



Listen to something new

I’ve been all about finding new podcasts to encourage and brighten my mood throughout the workday. I get to set the space I work in so this is important when it comes to building in moments of laughter and motivation as I’m working through my task lists and creating content. This week I was feeling a little extra in need of finding a new playlist and podcast combination, so I branched out!



These are some of the tunes/tips I listened to this week:


And, here were my inspiring results: I was more productive in the work I was doing, I had a clearer focus, and I felt more excited about the work I was creating. Using different sounds and stories to ignite my mind to think about new things in relation to the parts of life we are used to, helps increase our analogical thinking. This helps increase the mental ability to find inspiration in your creative environments.



Make time to move

I’ve written about how doing at home workouts during the early months of 2020 when we were all spending all our time at home, and how they saved my mental health. It really did. But, now that life has picked back up to the fast-paced schedule I remembered before, it has been hard to keep up with my workout schedule in the same way. Regardless, I saw that consistent work-outs are important to my serotonin levels, as well as, helping me feel strong and capable to tackle all of the challenges that any day might bring.


This last week I did a workout from one of my favorite YouTube fitness instructors on a slower morning of my week, and it made all the difference in how I collaborated at work. I felt stronger, my muscles more active, and my mind was able to clearly focus.


There’s a special kind of inspiration that comes after pushing past a challenging task. Whether it’s that last burpee, doing your makeup, or researching something new to listen to, it’s worth taking the time for yourself. I promise.



Remember we’re all in this together, and I’m here for you. If this has been a hard time in your life. Let’s be there for each other! Send me a DM on @the_gleams_blog on Instagram to chat. You’re strong, you’re capable, you deserve love, and you deserve inspiration.


39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page