top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexa Greathouse

grounded & inspired

Wow I feel like the last month has been a whirlwind for me, and from the sounds of it, most of you all as well. With a new school year starting for my fellow college gals and I, and of course work as usual for some of my career ladies, I think we can all say that the heat of August has hit an all-time high (I’m not just talking weather).


I don’t know about you all but lately I’ve been struggling to stay consistently inspired. Which happens and all my creatives readers know that these dry spells are almost painful. You try a little of everything to ignite a fresh idea in your head but sometimes it’s just not there.




So here are a few tips that have helped me find the places that fill me with new inspiration:


1. The ocean or nature

Being out in nature not only gives me a fresh perspective on life but it also gives me a new situation to draw from. For example, I put myself out of my comfort zone by volunteering to help incoming students go on a nature walk and remove dangerous species from these ecosystems, not only did I leave refueled but I left very inspired for multiple reasons, one was nature the second was…


2. Talking to new people

On this little nature exercion, I got to talk to so many new people from all different life situations, states, and upbringings. We were all so different but shared the same task and seeing the different approaches we all had was a great way to expose myself to ideas that I hadn’t considered before. Also with a full schedule of new classes and classmates I’ve heard so many stories and been able to relate to others in ways I didn’t anticipate. As for me, there’s nothing quite like talking to new professors, literal experts in their fields, literally living for their passion and inspiration.


3. Spend loads of time with people who LIGHT you up

Whether that be your friends who make you giggle the most or the ones who esteem you to the ends of the earth or even the ones you have the most fun dancing with at parties whoever it is grab those people and hold em close because those are the people who will make you the best and most true version of yourself.


4. Know your limits

The power of “no” is something I barely have grasps on but I know it works. Just make a good plan for yourself to not overkill your mind and body. Doing too much is almost worse than nothing at all.


5. Alone timeeeee

Ok maybe not everyone glamorizes a morning to yourself to dance in your kitchen or a night snuggled on the couch with a face mask but this stuff gives me all the charge I need to be bubbly and bright when I’m around others, so hey maybe give it a shot every now and then.




And above all else, you know you the best, if you feel like you’re in a situation that is no longer serving your best interest or where you want to be going in your life change it up!! The power of change can only be seen if you actually try it.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page