top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexa Greathouse

3 Questions To Ask During Your Internship

Updated: Jul 14, 2020

I clearly remember when I first saw the job posting for my Spring 2020 Internship. I was so surprised that they were still accepting applications because it just seemed too good to be true. This agency and the Internship program seemed right in line with what I was tirelessly looking for. They had great branding, clear expectations, and I saw that a lot of potential interns were applying already.


Prior to seeing the posting I would check every job posting site daily to scout out an Internship that a) would hire me b) looked like something I’d be proud to include on my Resume. (These are both very important when you’re looking keep that in mind). This opportunity seemed to satisfy both of my requirements. As a newly remote company, I was Interviewed in a group format through a shared Zoom call. Initially, I was nervous to engage with 12 different strangers all fighting for the same thing, but then I remember telling myself “It’s about collaborating with these Interviewees and engaging in the current conversation in a unique and personalized way, that’s how I’ll stand out.”


Turns out that worked and I did stand out! Within a day I received the formal offer for this Internship and jumped on the opportunity immediately. That warm feeling of reading those words across my laptop’s screen as I was checking my emails in an afternoon lecture hall was irreplaceable.


So, that’s how I landed the gig. But what happened next? I worked HARD. As an unpaid intern, I had the choice to view it as something I had to do versus something I could take full advantage of. So then I choose to view it as an advantageous opportunity and that this time dedicated to learning and practicing could pay off exponentially if I’m eager about it. I can confidently say that I was successful in doing this as I was offered a two-month extension and then a job title immediately after. How did I get there? Sometimes I feel like it was sheer luck, but the reality is I asked a lot of strategic questions to everyone at the agency and communicated my intentions clearly all while maintaining a positive attitude. And that's my Internship story summarized!


Now today you’re here to read about the 3 Questions To Ask During Your Internship… so let’s get into it...



How Can I Help Your Agency Reach Their Monthly Goals?

Now, context is everything here. This is a question that can be used in your initial onboarding after some rapport building OR something that you can ask after a monthly evaluation. Either way, this is showing the value that you are intending to provide to your employer during the time of your Internship. This will put your performance and contributions in the mind of your supervisor as bringing value to their existing business flow. Essentially telling them to view what you can bring to this opportunity as value-giving and worthwhile.


The repetition of this question could in some cases bring greater results both for yourself personally and the company overall. You’ll be aligning your work with their goals and give you a greater context to the experience you are gaining.




Is There Anything That I Can Improve On In My Work Here?

I decided to put this question as number two because it may already be a part of your program’s design to include a regular time for Feedback. For me, I did have this as a recurring monthly meeting. But adding this into other interactions with your coworkers is the key to showcasing the value you bring to the collection agency functions, not just to one supervisor. This was specifically relevant to my Agency Internship because I worked with 4 other coworkers and communicated with each of them on a biweekly basis. This gave us the opportunity to get to know each other and collaborate effectively on projects.


As I mentioned above my internship was with a Fully-Remote Marketing Agency so a lot of my feedback was given to me through @ mentions in our various communication platforms. So asking this question during a predesignated time for face-to-face (aka Zoom) meetings was crucial for me because I appreciate detailed and contextual answers when going over my points of growth. It helps me see the intent of my supervisor more clearly and enables me to remember it for future reference when implementing changes.





Why Did You Choose To Work For This Agency?

This is a great question to ask for multiple reasons. Not only will you learn more about the company/business you are working for but you will also learn from their experiences thus far. I made it a point to ask each of my coworkers this with the added “How Did You Choose This Career? And Why?” and “What Was It Like For You To Find A Job Post-Grad?” Hearing from multiple people who have the job where you’re currently interning is so beneficial during your program as you are already a part of their team and this will only further acquaint you with the overall goals.


And if you aren’t able to have these communications during your times on the job, reach out to them after work! LinkedIn is a great place to do research on what it took for people to get to the positions they are in now and I’ve found great value in that. I’ve also seen that most (if not all) my coworkers during my time as an Intern wanted to answer any questions I had whether about the projects I was working on or just about life/career in general. As an unpaid Intern, I saw these conversations as even a part of my compensation. Also remember, it’s all about gaining diverse, relevant, and useful experience so stay curious!




So those are my 3 Questions To Ask During Your Internship as someone who Interned while taking a full 20-hour course load at school I knew that the time I gave this experience had to be strategic to make sense of it all. I encourage you to do the same!


Go in curious, friendly, eager, and mostly optimistic. Learning experiences can reveal more than a textbook on Marketing Funnels could. Value your time Interning, soak it all in, and search for inspiration in all places! Most of all congratulations for taking that next step towards your dream career, let me know how it goes for you, and if you used these questions how they panned out for you.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page