top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlexa Greathouse

How To Actually Enjoy Working From Home

Updated: Jan 6, 2021

This is a hot topic right now, trust me I get it, and in no way am I trying to make light of this situation we are in right now with the COVD-19 pandemic. I'm just trying to take a few moments of your day to focus your intention on something good that can come out of this time. I'm a believer that all things can be used for good, and that all starts in your headspace.


Believe it or not, I've been wanting to write about working remotely since the beginning of 2020 because that is when I started a remote internship that I've spent 20 hours of my week hustling away on. If anyone knows me they know that I love people, like LOVE PEOPLE. It's kind of extreme, but I'm what I like to consider an over-the-top-extrovert by nature. So this new remote work situation obviously proved to be a learning curve for myself, one that I was eager to face head-on.


A lot of my fellow extroverts are now having to rethink what it means to work and live given our global context. But weirdly enough I have been socially distancing myself since the beginning of this year so I have a few tips for not going insane given these global circumstances.



(PS: A little message of hope, we will evolve and we will overcome. The earlier we work together and the more drastic our initial measures are the faster we can get there. Bunker down and ride this out without losing your mind. If you need anything, ANYTHING, I'm here and I don't care how "close" we are I'm here for you.)




Ok, now let's get to the tips:


1. MOVE MOVE MOVE

Like it sounds dumb and maybe too simple but I've literally spent my lunch break running up and down my stairs for 15 minutes just to get my legs moving and blood circulating. Not only does this feel good for those overly-crossed-legs-of-mine but it gives a fresh perspective to bring back to my screentime. As someone who works in a creative field, I need that time to think about nothing so I can "re-enter" the headspace I was in prior to.




2. Set a schedule. Stick to the schedule.

Part of the company culture that I work in is that we go over our daily tasks and schedule collectively. This seems like a small task but it has kept me SO accountable at getting everything done and being willing to challenge myself.


Even if you are not in a company that does that same practice, phone a friend, and go over your schedule with them. The Theory of Reasoned Action backs this simple action up with social science if you're a nerd like me and want to read up on that.



3. Talk to someone.

Kind of in line with my above tip, PHONE A FRIEND. I literally call my mom, my boyfriend, and my sister an obnoxious amount to just talk to someone over my lunch break or even to have them tell me a random story or about a show they just watched.


A key to avoiding hysteria and panic in this time is reminding ourselves of what makes us all human. More people than you think are in similar situations to you right now, keep things in perspective. Don't socially isolate yourself, we're all way more connected with the internet use that to your advantage.





4. Reward Yourself.

One of the weirdest things about "clocking-in" and "clocking-out" when working remotely is not knowing when work ends and home life begins. SO MAKE THAT DISTINCTION. This is huge when it comes to actually enjoy your new work/life balance. Yes, you're in the same four walls but do something different when you clock out. Close those work tabs and applications and maybe close your eyes for a beat.


I personally make this distinction by going for a walk around my neighborhood or watching something random on YouTube or Netflix, whatever it is clock-out and relaxxxxx. You're done for the day, reward yourself.






And again... this is an unnerving time for all of us. Some of us are riding it out with loved ones, others feel isolated and alone. Reach out to people if you need help, we are all in this together.


Take time to breathe. Think of something other than the news or the updates.


Maybe take this time to explore that side hustle you wanted or even to work on your writing. I'm viewing this as a time to re-group as a society. Try to focus on what good could possibly come out of this.


But most of all take this time seriously, please. For all of us who have family members with compromised immune systems, take this seriously.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page